Skip Navigation


TDA/AVETRA Industry Innovation Scholarship

2016 scholarship

TDA and AVETRA are pleased to announce that the ‘TDA/AVETRA Innovation Scholarship’ for 2016 is now open. The Guidelines can be found here.

The Scholarship, now in its third year, provides $6,000 for an individual or group of TAFE professionals to research innovative ways to work with industry or community to meet skill needs. The aim of the Scholarship is to build innovation and applied research capability in the TAFE sector.

The Scholarship supports TDA’s Strategic Plan to position TAFE in a competitive training market and AVETRA’s strong commitment to the development of research in vocational education and training nationally. Registrations which contain industry co-sponsorship contributions to the industry research topic/s will be encouraged.

Inaugural winner

2014: Awarded to David McLean from RMIT University. David is the Deputy Head of School Industry Group Manager in the School of Vocational Business Education at RMIT.

David’s proposal seeks to investigate innovative funding and training delivery models for new micro-business start-ups in the Health and Community Services Sector with the aim of increasing graduate success in business and developing stronger relationships with industry.

David’s completed report can be found here.

2015: Awarded to Peter Hurley – Project Manager, Bendigo Kangan TAFE

Peter’s research proposal : This project will look at how the TAFE sector can play an effective role as part of Australia’s response to unemployment through innovative Work for the Dole programs. It will look at how TAFE can create successful models of engaging theunemployed by linking them to training. The research will look at: program design, engagement strategies with jobseekers, how to recruit employers, how to maintain relationships with industry, program promotion, and transitioning job seekers to employment.

 Peter’s completed report can be found here.


2000-2001 Inaugural Award Winner:
Judith Uren, Manager Research, Research & Strategic Policy Analysis Unit
Central Metropolitan College of TAFE, Western Australia.

Her Research Outline:
To build on the existing information on student outcomes by closely examining the individual student, environment and institutional practices which affect successful student outcomes.

Aim of the Scholarship:
This Scholarship is a joint initiative between AUSTAFE and AVETRA.  The aim of this joint arrangement is two-fold:
1.  To encourage a Research culture within TAFE.
2.  To encourage TAFE Managers to undertake research that is relevant to their
workplace, and is of national significance.

Value of the Scholarship:
The value of the Scholarship is in excess of $4,000 in cash and kind, including a year’s subscription to the two sponsor Organisations, conference registrations, etc.